Some words about Galvin Klein & Friday Night Fever

Publié le par Lily

 

Pink-Orchid-TY.jpg

 

Dear Friends, Breeders, or simply You who are reading this blog,

 

I thank you all very much for the messages you wrote and sent, whether on my FB's wall or in my different mailboxes, I am really overwhelmed by the kind support that you have given me over Vinou's case since I published an article about it (click HERE to read the article).

 

Some choices seem hard to make but life isn't easy, neither is breeding. Hopefully life and breeding can be full of happy times all the same:-)


I am always trying to make correct choices and I have learned by experience that the easiest choice rarely is the best one. The easiest choice here would have been to ignore Galvin's subaortic stenosis and let him be part of my breeding programme, but that choice would also have been highly selfish not to mention irresponsible. A cat's life isn't worth less than human's life, life in any form is precious and it is important that I do not contribute to causing suffering by breeding with a suspect line.

I have given lots of thoughts to Vinou's condition, wondering for weeks what to do with him. Then I remembered that the day I adopted my first cat I tacitly decided to be responsible for him and those who would join us later. That is why it only seems natural that I shall never make choices by putting myself and my breeding programme first if my cat's life is at stake.

 

I appreciate that some wrote and said they applaud my decision, that they are proud of me and look up to such honesty. It comforts me in my own choices, and I think I won't be a liar by saying that I am a good breeder. What is a good breeder? For me it is not the breeder who always wins Best in show and cups (but of course one is always thrilled to win such reward with their cats!), it is rather the one who tries hard and does their best to raise healthy kittens and improve the type at the same time. Breeding should never be done to the detriment of cats health: it is often about striking a balance.

 

I was also relieved to learn that some that didn't understand my choice at first finally changed their mind and wrote to me again.

 

Well that being said, back to Galvin: I have taken an appointment at the veterinary hospital, Galvin will be neutered in 8 days.

If you want to do something please pray for Galvin and keep your fingers crossed that he will have a long and happy life as a neuter. I really hope he can have a normal life despite his light heart problem.

And don't be sad for me, I am not for myself and my cattery. Life is teaching me lessons everyday and I'm just trying to learn them and be a good student :-) I know that wrong choices never lead to real success and true happiness, and that what seems so hard today will make sense in the long run... 

 

Greetings,

 

Lily

 

 

 Friday-Nov-2010.jpg 

Balinesis Friday Night Fever, siamese variant cream tabby point, living at the cattery of Blue Moon

Picture was taken in November 2010 soon after Friday arrived in his new home.

 

 

 

And now  I would like to write some words about Friday Night Fever, a boy that was born in my first litter and has joined Mirjam Kessler and her family (cattery of Blue Moon, Switzerland) for one year and a half already. By the way he became daddy for the first time 10 months ago and his daughter Marinera lives at Mirjam also.

 

Friday who has a huge appetite sometimes swallow things he shoudn't and that's how Mirjam found him two days ago after he had vomitted. Hopefully Mirjam was home when this happened and could take him immediatly to the emergencies. Friday has had a bowel surgery and is now recovering slowly from the operation. He is still at the clinic and should be able to go back home to his family in a couple of days.

Let's pray for him... I hope that he recovers well and quickly! As for me I am lucky up to now I never had a cat with an intestinal occlusion, it is one of my biggest fear that it may happen one day. Cats are like children, they play with everything they find and sometimes eventually eat small objects that can hurt them...

 

My warm thoughts go to Mirjam and her family in this difficult moment. I can't wait to read that Friday is back home!

 

You can read the latest news of Friday on  Mirjam's blog

To read the article about Friday click here

 

updates March 12th: Friday's back home!

 

 


Publié dans Health issues

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article